Art Residency at Vytlacil Campus

My studio space at Vytlacil
My studio space at Vytlacil

I received an artist in residency scholarship for The Art Students League Vytlacil Campus for June 2010.  The Vytlacil campus is an absolutely amazing place with wonderful staff.  I loved my time there so much, I hope I can go back again soon!

I spent my month there with one other resident from Ireland, Eileen Healy.  Not only is Eileen a talented visual artist, but she is also an amazing musician.  Almost every day, I was so lucky to hear her practicing her fiddle!  She would often take me to music jams around Nyack and Sparkill, where she was able to go toe to toe with locals in Bluegrass and American folk music.

We had an open studio event on Friday, June 25th from 5 p.m. – 8 p.m, where Eileen organized some local musicians to come and play with her, entertaining folks, while experiencing the artwork we had made that summer.  Even a fire spinner came and performed after night fall.  What a wonderful night!

I want to thank so much, all the staff, especially, Gary, Dawn, Evelyn, Elena, and all the Peters, you made my summer unforgetable.

Leave a Reply

