Experience of solo show

During the past 3 weeks, I had my 1st solo show of watercolors and I have studied a lot and I would like to share my experience.

Ekaterina Smirnova Solo Show watercolor

First of all, I would like to say that I had great time. There is nothing more inspiring for the artist then to meet people who appreciate what you do. I had a wonderful feedback so far. Many visitors from the street walked into the Chashama gallery for the first time, and I am happy that my work has attracted my guests to walk in. Here is the first tip, if your gallery has a large window on the ground level, it is best to display your best work next to it, preferably large size, it is easier to see it from the street. I have positioned my biggest watercolor work “The Arrival of a Train” right at the entrance and that was the best idea.

I decided to paint at the gallery, during the day. I have completed few small works, one of them is “Mission accomplished”. I set up my easel close to the window, facing the work to the street. Many people would stop by to watch me working. Many people came into the gallery.

I had an opening reception and a closing one too. Reception is an important event where your friends, family, artist friends and your work appreciators have a chance to meet and discuss your work in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Wine, snacks and nice chill out music are also a great help to make the reception memorable. We had over 100 people for the reception, many guests walked in from the street to join the event.

I have met many people and have collected many contacts. I will make sure to invite everyone for my other future shows.

My big help was my mom-in-law who came all the way from Miami to stay with me at the gallery during the show. I would like to thank her, because without her it would be extremely difficult. Thank you dear mom, you rock!

 

 

 

Paul Ching-Bor, Ekaterina Smirnova and watercolorists  Deva and Nadia BooneRuee Huang with friends Skaterina Smirnova and Pam RomanowskyBernice Schmitz and Platte CloveSalmagundi visit

Leave a Reply

