National Art Museum of China

Beijing National Art Museum of China
Beijing National Art Museum of China

On my first day in Beijing, China, I to search for the  art supplies. Right in front of the suggested art stores I found The National Art Museum of China. This museum had a great collection of Chinese works on paper, watercolors, oil paintings. and contemporary pieces (mechanical and interactive). The entrance to the NAMC was free as in many museums in Beijing.

I was so amazed with the quality of works that I found there. Before this trip I did not really appreciate Chinese art, maybe because until then I did not really see any good works, in New York you don’t see much of  it. But this visit has changed my perception of  ink works on rice paper. The paintings were mainly large sizes and done with a great quality, usually of a nature subject matter. I am myself a large scale artist, so it was very interesting to see how does Chinese masters handle the brash strokes, ink flow on such a big paper. I studied those paintings very closely. To my disappointment there were no information of the media, artist names and the year of completion of works. I was trying to communicate with the museum stuff, but my Mandarin is still very poor to be able to have meaningful conversation. Museum had a free Wi-Fi access, so I could use web translate to ask where could I find watercolor works.

Meeting a Chinese lady who spoke perfect English was very fortunate. She has given me good suggestions on where to go around Beijing for the art and wrote in Chines description of the watercolor paper that I am planning on buying. I am looking forward meeting my new friend for our trip to another art museum next week.

I also think I was very lucky to find watercolor works straight away. Techniques of watercolors were brought on those paintings to a perfection! Not so often do I see watercolors like this. Truly amazing!

After leaving the museum I went to an art store, I have purchased different varieties of rice paper, brushes and ink. Now I am trying to find classes on Chinese art while I am here. I think this knowledge will help me with my watercolors. So far we have found only classes in Chinese, hopefully I will find something in English.

Please excuse me for not giving the names of paintings and artists names on the pictures, I don’t know how to type in Chinese.

One thought on “National Art Museum of China

  1. I was suggested this blog through my cousin. I am no longer positive whether or not this publish is written by way of
    him as nobody else realize such detailed approximately my trouble.
    You are wonderful! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

