798 Art District

798 art district Suggested in all of the guide tour books, 798 Art District is one of the places that I had to visit. It is a little away from the center, about 20 min by car,  if there is no traffic. It consists of many independent galleries that are spread out in the area, previously a factory. This reminded me a lot Chelsea, New York. It was not so easy to find good galleries in my opinion and not everything did I like there, but overall my impression was positive. I saw mainly contemporary art, a lot of interactive and electronic, which was a pleasant surprise. This place was a mixture of galleries, stores and cafes and restaurants, so anyone could rest conveniently, where in Chelsea you should go away from the area in order to find even a bottle of water, not even mentioning a restaurant. There was a suggestion of the famous Pace Beijing gallery, I was looking for it for 2 hours, and it was meant to be the finale of my trip. When I found it I discovered that I really didn’t like the style of the works and it is not what I like to see. I was little disappointed, so I continued walking around, and as a reward I found a great Shanghai gallery with wonderful Chinese ink paintings.

At the end of the day it was hard to get back home, due to the rush hour. Almost impossible to get an official cab, but there were offers of regular drivers waiting at the entrance, a bit more expensive, but affordable (taxi is very cheap in Beijing).

 Beijing 798 art district
Beijing 798 art district
Tatsuo Miyajima at UCCA
Tatsuo Miyajima at UCCA
