100 Days: Day 6

Day 6, ASL studio
Today, on Sunday, I went to my class at the Art Students League of NY. This is the way my work space looks there. I was working on my painting of Chinese restaurant cooks. This painting is now finished and just needs to be signed, it is a little different from my regular style, but this is coming from the paper choice, which is a chinese cold-press watercolor paper. Due to it’s high sizing, paper does not absorb color very easy, it is also very easy to wash it off (even till bright white), that is why I had a challenge to paint this work, as my colors would not stay intense as I paint and paper would not capture them. Over all, this painting brings me good memories of wonderful Chinese food and it was interesting to work on a different surface, makes you think about the way of painting a bit differently.

Leave a Reply

