100 Days: Day 13

Studio 13Plate Clove SkillMy father, Andrey Alexandrovich Smirnov, was visiting us in NY last month and I started working on his portrait then. I wanted to paint him for some time, he is so photogenic in my opinion and this was the perfect time to do it during my art residence upstate NY, when I had one whole week just me and my dad. We were living in the Catskills cabin, it was so beautiful outside, but started to get a little cold, thats why you can see my dad is wearing a sweater  and a jacket and drinking an aromatic hot tea. I wanted to skip the bricks on the background but dad insisted on including them, he is right after all, breaks help to create this particular mood of the cabin. This painting is not finished yet, and there are few things left to do. If you met my father, do you think this portrait looks like him?

Leave a Reply

