Armory NY 2012: Works on paper

The second week of March was an important art week for New York. Many international art shows were held throughout the city, but the biggest of them all was the Armory Art Show 2012. My friends and I went to see this show and spent about 5 hours walking around the two pears, 94 and 92, where a lot of famous galleries displayed their best work. We started with the Contemporary Show and moved to the Modern. It was an absolute pleasure to see a lot of works on paper, which is my big interest, since I work on paper myself. So I decided to make the show review from the point of view works on paper: paintings, prints and drawings.

To my very big surprise Andrew Edlin Gallery, New York, has exhibited Soviet TASS Propaganda posters, called Kukryniksy, that I know about from my childhood and never even hoped to see them in person. Amazing experience. I have purchased a catalog from the show that just ended, sadly I have missed it, but I am very happy that this gallery took an effort to put this wonderful collection together! To read more about the show visit this link www.edlingallery.com

Note: To enlarge photos, select them.

Pavel Sokolov-skalia
Leonardo Drew, "Number 8P, 9P" 2012. 28"x18"
Toyin Odutola, Ball-pen drawing, one of the set of five
Doug and Mike Starn "Structure of Thought 15" 2001 - 2012. Epson K3 Ultrachrome inkjet print on cotton rag with Gumpi papers with varnish 108"x120"
Chuck Close
Kim Mccarty
May Stevens
Paul Jenkins
John Currin
James Nares
Polly Apfelbaum
Eric Fischl
Edward Ruscha
Dawn Clementis
Chan Kok Hooi
Robert Motherwell

 

 

Leave a Reply

