Painting Miami Sunsets

Every time I have a chance to be in Miami, one of my favorite activities is looking at the sunsets, they are so beautiful, so different and full of color. I would like to share with you the beauty I find in them. For one week I will be painting everyday sunsets, film them and post to my Youtube channel. Would it be rain, clouds or clear sky, I will paint what I see.

I am painting on a block of watercolor paper Arches, 140 lb, cold press. It is sealed on the sides so my paper stays stretched and flat when it dries. I put an acid-free masking tape around the border before starting to paint, and remove it after the paper is dry, this way I get a nice looking border. I use a Windsor and Newton watercolor paint, in the tubes (it is easier to work with the soft paint, rather then the hard, that comes in the little pans). When you select the brushes, it is better to get the more professional kind, not the cheapest, because you will have some bristles fall off in the middle of your painting, and it is hard to get them out.
Please, ask me questions if you have any.

Enjoy the show of nature with me.

Day 1. March 28, 2012

Day 2. March 29, 2012

Day 3. March 30, 2012

Day 4. March 31, 2012

Day 5. April 1, 2012

Day 6. April 2, 2012

Day 7.

Leave a Reply

