The Highline Park, New York

Image

Before leaving New York for my new adventures I decided to go for a long walk in Manhattan. Out all the possible places I could go, I chose the Village and Chelsea. At first I had my lunch in my favorite Joe’s Pizza (Spiderman used to work there, if you remember). Then I started winding around the Village’s cute streets, looking for something that I did not see before, enjoying a very special atmosphere, so cozy and elegant and yet modern and fun. I stopped to get coffee in a little cafe I never been before and paid almost $7 for a small cup of iced latte, I found out from the check that it was called “The Newyorker” and thought that this coffee along with it’s ridiculously high cost is a totally symbolic thing, that was the price that many of us get to pay in order to be a Newyorker. After this philosophical thought I directed myself towards Highline, new park elevated from the street level on the former NY Central Railroad spur that was caller the West Side Line. This park is about one mile long, and is very well designed, filled with a large variety of plants and some sculptural works. The day was hot, but breezy (perhaps due to close location the the Hudson river, this park gets water winds and refreshes the air) and it was the perfect day to walk around and enjoy the beauty of smart urban creation.

Image

Image

The gardeners of the Highline did a great job choosing the plants and organizing them. Different shapes and colors of various sorts of grass, peeking though the stone blocks and old rails are giving a feeling of nature overpowering the industry.

Image

Blooming wild flowers with their color would compliment graffiti if you care to compare. And once you have noticed, you start think, what came first, the flowers or the painting…

Image
Many creative people are attracted to the park. I saw some musicians.
Image
And I met an artist, who “thinks outside of his box”, his name is David Everitt-Carlson, he is a very interesting person and he has lots of great ideas, which you could discuss with David in person if you run into him at the park. If you are intrigued, here is his blog.
Image
When I got hungry, at one of the many choices of vendors I bought a lovely salad with massaged kale, roasted almonds and cheese, and had my watermelon slushy. Yum!
Image
Here and there you would notice some sculptures hidden in the bushes. They all look quite distinct and organic in some cases. I think seeing them at the park makes it more fun of a walk.
Image
Image
My favorite artwork was this guy, saying hi to you from the house next to the Highline. It’s just too funny.
Image
This park is a mile long already, but it is not finished yet, and I can not wait to see the rest of it in my return to NY.
Image
I spent at the park a good 3 hours, and never got bored, I just felt relaxed and excited as I was about to meet my friend to go for a walk in Chelsea galleries (which sadly were all closed, because of the summer hours).
One more thing. If you are highly allergic, you may want to consider bringing your allergy pills, my eyes felt a little itchy at the end.
Leave a Reply

