Visiting Leopold Museum, Vienna, Austria

 

 

On my first day in Vienna I went to the Museumsquartier, an area where all the modern museums are located. 

I decided to start with the Leopold Museum. It is showing Egon Schiele at the moment, an Austrian painter, which was perfect for me, cause I wanted to get a taste of Austrian art. Egon (1890 – 1918) was very popular in the early 20th century and is a good representation of early Expressionism. Gustav Klimt has given a good support to the young artist. Unfortunately I missed the show of Klimt, which ended just before I came to Vienna, however I saw some of his works from the permanent collection. I love Klimt!

Image

Gustav Klimt “Death and Life” 1910/11, reworked in 1915

 

Egon Schiele died very young, he was just 28 years old, but he left a lot of amazing works for us to enjoy, study from or hate. Please enjoy my little portfolio that I put together bellow.

 

 Image

Egon Schiele, Self-portrait with Physalis, 1912

Image

“Cardinal and Nun”, 1912

This painting was also entitled by Schiele – not without sarcasm – as “Tenderness”, is a paraphrase of Klimt’s painting “The Kiss”

Image

“Houses byt the Sea”, 1914

Image

“Crescent of Houses”, 1915

Image
“Stein on the Danube II”, 1913
Image
“Setting Sun”, 1913
Image
“House Wall on the River”, 1915
Image
“Reclining Woman”, 1917
Image
“Nude Boy in Gray Shirt” (self portrait), 1910
 
One thought on “Visiting Leopold Museum, Vienna, Austria

Leave a Reply

