Painting in Ireland

Painting in Schull

Ireland. This is a the place where you think mostly. Looking to the simple and yet so complex nature: all the varieties of green on the land and grey on the sky; rocks of all kinds, spread on the ground or collected and put together for the fence… I love it here. I relax. And I work.

After 6 days trip around Ireland I came to the far Schull to spend here 3 weeks painting. I live in a small part of the house, away from the village. It is so wonderfully designed to live and create in the same place. Dave and Shona, has organized all so well, and turned the place into an artist dream. I have my fresh local food, herbs from the garden for my daily tea, my tables are covered with books and art materials.
My delayed watercolor paper roll from America is still not arrived, and I have just about 10 days left. Fortunately I have met a local artist, Donagh Carey, who was so kind to offer me his paper. Donagh gave me hot pressed (there for very smooth) 140 lb paper, which is so different from the paper I got used to (min 156 lb, rough), but I was very happy to receive it. Now I am teaching myself to work with it, and I like my experiments. So this misfortune came out to be a very fortunate experience.

Screen shot 2013-06-03 at 12.07.05 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-03 at 7.26.03 PM

I will be posting more works as I go. Please feel free to comment.

Screen shot 2013-06-03 at 12.06.51 PM

2 thoughts on “Painting in Ireland

Leave a Reply

