I love Vyt. Art Residency in New York. 2016

There are so many places in the world you’d like to visit, but there are only a few you truly like to come back to. To me – Vyt (Vytlacil) is one of them. I like to come here and create. Nothing else matters then.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 4.36.34 PM

This charming art residency is a part of the Art Students League of NY. During the past 8 years of it’s existence I was able to attend it 3 times! Each time I made a large body of work, which helped me to achieve my art goals. I truly treasure my moments at Vyt.

What: Vyt artist residency
Where: Sparkill, New York, USA
How to apply
: Vyt application

But let me tell you a little about what it looks like residing at Vyt. It is located not far from NYC and takes about 30 min by bus from the George Washington Bridge. Basically you are surrounded by nature here. During my stay I saw the following animals: deer, wild turkeys, chipmunks, squirrels, bats, smelt a skunk. There are 6 chickens live on the property, we all loved feeding them and look for fresh eggs.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 4.06.14 PM
Chickens observe my ceramic golden cubes

For one month you are given your living quarters, and a studio. Sometimes both of them are united in a single space. Studios are assigned to artists to suite their needs, for example, if you are a printmaker you will be given a space with a press. This time I stayed at the new building with a very modern feel to it: tall walls, a lot of natural light, back porch…

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 5.12.46 PM

Since I worked with cyanotype this time – my space was just perfect. I was also able to use ceramic facilities. There are 2 kilns at Vyt: a large electric and a small test kiln. Elena McCabe – an impressive artist herself – was helping me with ceramics firings. You can always get help at Vyt with whatever you do.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 4.08.49 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 5.10.39 PM

Usually you are left to yourself to create (or just chill if you need just that). All the time is yours. Each Wednesday though there would be a free lunch offered for everyone, after which invited art professionals visit your studio to give you advise or an art critique if you need one.

Each space has a little kitchen, where you prepare your own meals. Each Tuesday you are taken shopping: food or art materials. So technically you could live at your space for the whole month and be a hermit. But it is so beautiful around that you want to go outside for a walk. Sometimes we would gather together with artists for some evening time.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 4.10.04 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 4.40.34 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 5.27.54 PM

I think Vyt is a jewel of the Art Students League of NY! It is an escape from the busy city where an artist can focus on creating and relaxing at the same time. So many artists from allover the world have come to stay here, share their talent and experience. Now do you know why you should apply for Vyt? I hope to meet you there next time I visit.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 4.37.53 PM

 

 

Leave a Reply

